MINUTES of the WAVERLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, The Burys, Godalming on 9 May 2017 at 7.00 pm

Present

Cllr Simon Inchbald (Mayor) Cllr Denise Le Gal (Deputy Mayor) Cllr Mike Band **Cllr Andrew Bolton** Cllr Carole Cockburn Cllr Jim Edwards Cllr Patricia Ellis Cllr David Else **Cllr Jenny Else** Cllr Mary Foryszewski Cllr Michael Goodridge Cllr Tony Gordon-Smith Cllr John Gray Cllr Ged Hall **Cllr Val Henry** Cllr Stephen Hill Cllr Mike Hodge **Cllr David Hunter Cllr Peter Isherwood**

Cllr Anna James Cllr Carole King Cllr Martin Lear Cllr Andy MacLeod **Cllr Tom Martin Cllr Stephen Mulliner Cllr Nabeel Nasir Cllr Julia Potts** Cllr Wyatt Ramsdale **Cllr David Round Cllr Jeanette Stennett Cllr Stewart Stennett** Cllr Chris Storey **Cllr Simon Thornton** Cllr Liz Townsend Cllr Bob Upton Cllr Liz Wheatley **Cllr Nick Williams** Cllr John Williamson

Apologies

Cllr Brian Adams, Cllr Maurice Byham, Cllr Kevin Deanus, Cllr John Fraser, Cllr Pat Frost, Cllr Jill Hargreaves, Cllr Christiaan Hesse, Cllr Nicholas Holder, Cllr Jerry Hyman, Cllr Robert Knowles, Cllr Denis Leigh, Cllr Peter Martin, Cllr Kika Mirylees, Cllr Libby Piper, Cllr Sam Pritchard, Cllr Stefan Reynolds, Cllr Richard Seaborne, Cllr John Ward and Cllr Ross Welland

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, prayers were led by the Reverend Alan Crawley.

1/17 <u>ELECTION OF MAYOR</u> (Agenda item 1.)

The Mayor invited nominations for the election of Mayor for the Council year 2017/2018.

It was proposed by Cllr Carole King and seconded by Cllr Peter Isherwood that Cllr Simon Inchbald be elected Mayor for the ensuing year. There being no other nominations, it was

RESOLVED that Cllr Simon Inchbald be elected Mayor for the year 2017/2018.

2/17 <u>MAYOR TO MAKE DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE</u> (Agenda item 2.)

Having been invested with the Mayoral Robes and Chain of Office, Cllr Simon Inchbald made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the chair.

The Mayor thanked his proposer and seconder for their kind comments of support and recognised that his role was to provide a service to the whole community.

3/17 <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u> (Agenda item 3.)

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Brian Adams, Maurice Byham, Kevin Deanus, John Fraser, Pat Frost, Jill Hargreaves, Christiaan Hesse, Nicholas Holder, Jerry Hyman Robert Knowles, Denis Leigh, Peter Martin, Kika Mirylees, Libby Piper, Sam Pritchard, Richard Seaborne, Stefan Reynolds, John Ward and Ross Welland.

4/17 <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u> (Agenda item 4.)

The Mayor invited nominations for the appointment of Deputy Mayor for the year 2017/2018.

It was proposed by Cllr Mike Hodge and seconded by Cllr Tom Martin that Cllr Denise Le Gal be appointed Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year. There being no other nominations, it was

RESOLVED that Cllr Denise Le Gal be appointed Deputy Mayor for the year 2017/2018.

5/17 <u>DEPUTY MAYOR TO MAKE DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE</u> (Agenda item 5.)

Cllr Denise Le Gal made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office and thanked those who had elected her as Deputy Mayor. She said that she was very pleased and proud to carry out the role.

6/17 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR (Agenda item 6.)

Cllr David Hunter proposed a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor, Cllr Chris Storey. He said that he had attended many events with Cllr Storey as Mayor of Godalming, and commented upon Cllr Storey's ability to always promote Waverley throughout his mayoral year as the best place to live. He commended the retiring Mayor for his ability to chair Council meetings in an unbiased way and that despite some periods of ill health during the year, had carried on with his duties. This was seconded by Cllr Mike Hodge and supported by Cllr Mary Foryszewski who had also joined Cllr Storey on a number of occasions in a mayoral capacity, and complemented him on being kind, accommodating, patient and inclusive. A number of members also celebrated the role of the Mayoress who had been unfailingly charming and a great support to the Mayor at all functions. Cllr Storey wished the newly-elected Mayor and Mayoress every success for their Mayoral year and thanked everyone for their kind words. He reported on a number of particularly special occasions that he had attended during the year, and identified the best part of being Mayor as meeting the variety of people across the borough and in different organisations, and recognising the value of their work and contributions. Cllr Storey thanked members and officers for supporting him in various ways throughout the year, and for supporting his charities.

7/17 <u>MINUTES</u> (Agenda item 7.)

The Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 25 April 2017 were confirmed and signed.

8/17 MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS (Agenda item 8.)

The Mayor announced that the chaplain for his mayoral year would be Sarah Brough, Rector of Chiddingfold, who would be leaving the parish in a year's time after 14 years of service. He announced that he would be supporting the Meath Epilepsy Trust as his chosen charity, a charity that helped to support those with complex epilepsy and learning/physical disabilities.

The Mayor echoed the Council's best wishes to Cllr Hyman who had been recently taken unwell.

9/17 <u>APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE</u> (Agenda item 9.)

The Leader of the Council introduced the members of the Executive for 2017/2018 and their portfolio holder responsibilities as set out at Agenda Item 9, and welcomed Cllr Chris Storey who would be joining the Executive to fulfil the portfolio responsibilities relating to Operational Planning and Place Shaping.

10/17 LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989. LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COMMITTEES AND POLITICAL GROUPS) REGULATIONS 1990. (Agenda item 10.)

An amended Annexe 2 was tabled setting out the revised membership of the Licensing Sub-Committees.

The Leader of the Council moved the adoption of recommendations in Annexe 1 relating to the appointments to Committees for the forthcoming Council year. The Council then

RESOLVED that

- 1. the principal Committees and the Area Planning Committees, together with the Surrey County Council Local Committee, Standards Panel, Appeals Panel and Emergency Advisory Group for the year 2017/2018 be as indicated in Annexe 1; and
- 2. the Licensing (General Purposes) and Licensing Act Sub-Committees be constituted as indicated in Revised Annexe 2 to the report [NB. This decision was taken by members of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee only].

The meeting concluded at 8.00 p.m.

Mayor